What Are The Top Laws Landlords In Nevada Must Follow?

Learn More About The Latest Laws Landlords Must Follow

If you own rental property in Las Vegas or elsewhere in Nevada you are a landlord and have the responsibility of following Nevada state law or else you risk the possibility of facing a lawsuit and fines.

In this article we will share with you the top landlord laws that you must follow in the state of Nevada just so you can have confidence that you’re managing your rental properties legally and following the letter of the law.

#1 – Anti-Discrimination Laws

As a landlord in Nevada some of the most important laws that you must follow are anti-discrimination laws. For example: under the Fair Housing Act you do not have the right to discriminate against anyone in a “protected category” and Nevada state laws prohibit you from discriminating against anyone based on their gender identity or sexual orientation.

Under the Fair Housing Act landlords must also not discriminate against tenants if they have a criminal record and served time in the past.

Thanks to a recent interview with HUD Secretary Julian Castro we know that a prospective tenant can sue a landlord if they feel that they’ve been discriminated against due to their criminal record.

download

#2 – State Rent Rules

Before evicting a tenant who lives in your Nevada rental property you must follow state rent laws and give them a 5 day notice that they must either pay the rent or face eviction.

Many courts are also throwing out junk fines such as 5 day and attorney fees, excessive late fees

#3 – Security Deposit Return

Here in Nevada you must also follow security deposit rules and return their deposit to them within 30 days after they move out.

Under Nevada landlord-tenant laws, a landlord may charge a tenant the equivalent of three months’ rent for the security deposit. And also in Nevada, if both the landlord and the tenant agree, the tenant can use a surety bond for all or part of the deposit.

Source – Nolo.com 

To make things easier you should also include an itemized checklist of all items that had to be fixed in your rental property, or cleaned, after your tenant moved out just so they know why you only returned a portion of their cleaning deposit.

#4 – Habitable Housing

You must provide your tenants with habitable housing and a working HVAC system. Since the implied warranty of habitability gives tenants the legal right to withhold rent if your rental property is not considered to be habitable and has issues like broken windows or a busted water heater.

Learn More About Landlord Laws

Not knowing the specifics mentioned in this article will hurt you when negotiating with a tenant, or when trying to take litigate an issue against a tenant. If you aren’t 100% sure what you as a landlord are responsible, the court won’t forgive you. Hire a professional

To learn more about what are the top laws that every Nevada Landlord must follow contact Goldenwest Management, Inc by calling us at (702) 685-7696 or click here to connect with us online.